A Different Kind of Bookstore

Welcome to Home Grown Books, a unique bookstore created by authors. Home Grown Books is dedicated to showcasing self-published authors. We offer readers a rare opportunity to discover new talent and to read books not found in traditional bookstores. We also provide a venue for authors to get their self-published books into the hands of the public. All the authors and artists are from or have connections to the Ozarks and represent a wide variety of genres.

Monday, September 16, 2013

Not So Square Festival Rounds up Crowd

Local and regional artists and authors were on display Sept. 7 at the Mt. Vernon, Missouri festival of the arts sponsored by the regional arts council. The sixth-annual Not So Square Arts and Literary Festival event sees largest crowd yet with estimated overall attendance between 1,500 to 2,000 people.

Two Authors Recognized at Festival

Kathy Brown of Home Grown Books presented Laurence Stoll author of The Happy Accident, a Christian romance, with the “Author of the Year Award.”

Schyrlet Cameron of Home Grown Books presented Bill Armstrong, World War II Veteran and author of the Survival on a Coral Planet and The First Voyage, with the Best of Show Award.

Festival Offers Readers a Variety of Genres

Susan Stark 2012 recipient of the “Best of Show Award” and author of Temptation with Luggage

Karla Phelps author of Yama the Llama-Off to Bethlehem and Yama the LLama-Off to Jerusalem 

Mary White author of Jack the Rat and His Funny Little Hat


Linda Sartin recording artists, Simply Dulcimer  and Dulcimer Daze  


Sharon Rushton author of No Paved Road to Freedom    
Perry Posey author of Buffalo Gal

Nancy Hughes author of Healing for the Heart-Survival in the World of a Widow


June Barnhart author of Diabetes: One Step at a Time

Don Shmedeke author of Three Feet to Now

Kitty Sutton author of Wheezer and the Painted Frog and Wheezer and the Shy Coyote


Mary Boll author of MeMa’s Manna Cookbooks

Dan Trogdon author of And So It Goes

Larua Valenti author of several Christian romance novels including the Heart of the Spring Series

Samantha McMillian (right) author of City of the Gods: The Descendant

LeAnn Campbell author of Century Farm Juvenile Mystery Series and Kay Rose author No God No Hell No Churches No Saloon

Richard East author of A Glimpse of Heaven

Zona Crabtree author of the Corn Cave Series


Elaine Orr author of a murder mystery series including the novels Trouble on the Doorstop and Appraisal for Murder

Ken Bavuso author of A Travelers guide to Understanding

No comments:

Post a Comment